My Material Life

Tomato Tart with Cornmeal Crust

What do you like to make when you are cooking to please only yourself? I usually think of some vegetable dish first, something like this tomato tart. I’m a lazy cook, so I planned to pick up one of those Vicolo pizza crusts in the refrigerated section of Whole Foods. Have you tried those? They are very tasty and made with cornmeal. They also sell a variety of ready-to-heat pizzas, but I just wanted the crust and unfortunately (or fortunately as the case may be), Whole Foods was out of them. So I went home and searched for a cornmeal crust recipe on the computer and here is what I found. I may never need to buy Vicolo pizza crusts again!

The entire recipe for Mexican black bean tart with cornmeal crust at the link above looks great, but I just went for the crust. I wondered if it would hold up to the juice from the tomatoes and it did – splendidly! Few ingredients, went together easily, very tasty, great texture. This recipe for cornmeal crust is a keeper. Though next time, I’m going to try substituting half the butter with olive oil and add an additional pinch or two of salt.

Once I baked my crust, I grated parmesan cheese on top of it and added sliced tomatoes, minced garlic, olive oil, kosher salt and another sprinkling of parmesan.  Then I baked it in a 400 degree oven for ten minutes and sprinkled fresh basil on top when I took it out of the oven.  Slice, add glass of wine – perfect.

Save

Leave a Reply

