My Material Life

Chocolate Chip Shortbread and The Lemonade Stand

Gosh, I’m sorry this photo is so big, but I’ve just got to show off this lemonade stand and the next size down really doesn’t do it justice!  See that umbrella?  Got that at Ikea for $14 back in June.  It was the last one in the store and  I didn’t even get the entire pole, but my husband figured out a way to mount it to the table with a flag pole holder.  The table is Ikea too. Got that in July and it was also the last one in the store.  The red chairs are early Design Within Reach and were very inexpensive years ago.  Is that company still in business?  Anyway, enough with these material matters.  We had a benefit lemonade stand at our house yesterday and a very nice group of tried and true friends, new friends, neighbors and passers-by contributed over $200 to a fund for a local boy being treated for bone cancer.  Not bad for three hours on a Thursday afternoon.

And here is the chocolate chip shortbread that I promised in the title.  I’ve been thinking of the cookie I would sell at the stand all summer long.  The Nordstrom cafes sell a packaged chocolate chip shortbread that is really tasty.  I knew that kind of flavor would be a crowd pleaser, but I also had a certain size and heft in mind for the cookie.  As luck would have it, when I visited my sister last week she had the perfect recipe for me in one of her Betty Crocker cookie cookbooks from the early 90’s.  In fact, this was her kids’ favorite cookie when they were young.  I can see why.  These cookies are delicious and they are so easy to make – only 4 ingredients!  I’m sure Ms. Crocker wouldn’t mind if I share the recipe with you, so here you are.

Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies

  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 3/4 c packed brown sugar (I used golden brown.)
  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 c miniature semisweet chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350.  Mix butter and brown sugar in large bowl until well blended. Stir in flour.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Note:  I used my Kitchenaid mixer for all of this.  Roll dough into 1-1/4″ balls.  Place about 3″ apart on ungreased cookie sheet.  Flatten to about 1/2″ thickness with greased bottom of glass dipped in sugar.  Bake 12 to 14 minutes or until set.  Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet.

6 comments

  1. Janice

    I’m so glad your lemonade stand was a success. The kids had fun, and the fire truck was fabulous! A lovely afternoon, congrats to you and Sam.

    • Janice, thank you for coming! We will hire your boys for sign dancing for any future events. The kids did have fun, didn’t they? And I think even us adults were thrilled by that fire truck!

  2. Susan

    The kids had so much fun at the stand! Congrats to you both for such a successful stand. I am glad you posted that recipe–now that we’re moved in, I’m dying to bake something…it’s been ages. Good luck tomorrow–it’s the first day of school, right?

    • And now it is too hot to bake! But I was thinking I wish I had one of those cookies just a little while ago. First day was so far, so good! Thanks for asking and talk to you soon – Colleen

Leave a Reply

