My Material Life

Bedrolls for Barbies

A pretend sleepover with a friend prompted this project for Barbie and her pal Midge. These are made from fleece that I found at Natural Expressions in Los Gatos. They generally don’t carry fleece, but they did have two bolts and this fabric came from one of them. Nice quality. The beauty of sewing with fleece of course, is that you do not need to finish any edges. And that’s not all – no pressing, no iron, no board! For each bag, I cut two rectangles. Because I was working around that butterfly, one piece (the bottom) measures 7.25″ x 13.25″ and the top piece measures 7.25″ x 12″. I also cut one rectangle for the pillow for each bag, each measuring 5.5″ x 2.75″.

First I pinned the rectangle for the pillow onto the bottom piece of the sleeping bag and I stitched around three sides, leaving the fourth (a short) side open.Then I stuffed the pocket with batting and stitched the fourth side closed. And voila – I had a pillow! The built-in pillow idea came from a full-size fleece blanket that my sister makes. Next I folded a small flap of the top of the bag outward, pinned the top of the bag to the bottom and stitched around all three sides. That’s all there is to it. The sleeping bag or bedroll may be rolled and tied with extra strips of fleece for storage/travel.

Save

Leave a Reply

