My Material Life

Homemade Wig

My daughter needed to wear orange for a team color day at camp last week, but it’s not really her color and she doesn’t have any orange clothes.  What we do have is lots of orange mason line from Home Depot – not because we’ve been laying bricks (which I gather it is intended for), but because I thought it would be a fun material to crochet with.  Well I haven’t crocheted a thing with it, but doesn’t it make a nice wig?  This project took about twenty minutes.  I glued the mason line to some twill tape, then ran three lines of stitching over that to form the part and secure the mason line to the twill tape.  I’ve seen the mason line in yellow too.  It’s basically twine made of polypropylene.  If I ever get to crocheting something with it, I’ll be sure to let you know.

Leave a Reply

