My Material Life

A Fancier Arnold Palmer

I didn’t plan to tell you about this so early in the season – it’s not even summer yet – but two things happened this week that made me change my mind. First, we went to see the practice round of the U.S. Open at Pebble Beach on Tuesday and second, we saw Mr. Arnold Palmer himself (actually sat down at the table next to his) at the Inn at Spanish Bay after we left the golf course. If that’s not a sign, I don’t know what is. I don’t think I’d even heard of an Arnold Palmer when I first had this drink. This is how they served iced tea at one of my favorite restaurants that used to be at the Stanford Shopping Center called Bravo Fono. As I recall, theirs had this big ball of lemon ice in it. So refreshing. I use lemon sorbet in plain black tea and boy is it good. Nothing better on a hot day. When one of my friends heard about this idea, she decided to add limoncello to the mix and said it kept the guys who were doing some construction work at her house very happy.

Have you ever been out to the Inn at Spanish Bay on the 17-mile drive? Their outdoor lobby lounge overlooking the ocean is a magnificent place to enjoy a cocktail. You’ll pay for that location, but it’s well worth it. Maybe you’ll even see Arnold Palmer.

Save

Leave a Reply

