My Material Life

Blackberry Muffins

Summer must be here because I made my first batch of these yesterday.  They are my favorite way to consume blackberries. I use the blueberry muffin batter from Nigella Lawson’s, How to be a Domestic Goddess.  I prefer the slight tartness of blackberries in my muffins, but I’ll use some of the batter for blueberry muffins too if I have them.  I can’t find this recipe online – except in some British blogs which use grams and what-not – so I’ll just paraphrase it for you here:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine 1-1/3 c all purpose flour, 1/2 t baking soda, 2 t baking powder, 1/4 c sugar and pinch of salt.

In a measuring cup beat together 3/4 c plus 2 T buttermilk, 1 large egg, 6 T melted and cooled unsalted butter.

Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix gently.  Fold in berries (she suggests 7 oz).

Spoon in muffin cups and bake for 20 minutes.

I was out of unsalted butter yesterday, so substituted 6 T sunflower seed oil.  Any vegetable oil should do in a pinch.  Think I prefer the butter.

Nigella says it all so much better.

Leave a Reply

