My Material Life

Happy Spring

Do you know about Brambly Hedge?  I’m so glad I was able to get two of these sweet little books from my local library on Saturday – a perfect way to welcome spring. Jill Barklem must be some kind of artistic descendent of Beatrix Potter, though she’s created a much more detailed material world for the creatures of Brambly Hedge. I was looking at tea sets here when I discovered that such a world existed. You can find out more at this site. I didn’t buy a tea set, but after learning that some of the stories were animated using models, I think I’ll have to purchase a DVD or two if I can find them.

The art in children’s books is such a pleasure and such an inspiration. Look at the patchwork quilt in this illustration from the book pictured above:

Jill Barklem

I would love to make one just like it. Another patchwork quilt inspiration comes from the brilliant mind of Lauren Child (of Charlie and Lola fame) and her My Dream Bed book

Lauren Child

It may be hard to find a copy of My Dream Bed, but do try because it’s a wonderful book. I couldn’t believe my good fortune when, during a visit to my sister’s house, I found that she had a copy and she gave it to me! Another illustrator whose work I adore is Henriette Willebeek Le Mair. If you can find a copy of Robert Louis Stevenson’s A Child’s Garden of Verses that is illustrated by her, grab it! I love her ideas for bedding. Look at these curtain and comforter combinations, and you’ll see what I mean…

Henriette Willebeek Le Mair

Henriette Willebeek Le Ma

Save

One comment

  1. Janice

    Another quilt I always like is the one belonging to Maisy, the mouse. She has a patchwork quilt on her bed in the cartoon, very colorful, like the Lauren Child one above.
    Lovely blog, Colleen! See you soon!!

Leave a Reply

