My Material Life

Something Sweet for St. Patrick

Here is a fun recipe from the early or at least earlier years of Saveur Magazine. I used to love this magazine in the 90s. It seemed like every issue held something wonderful waiting to be discovered inside – an introduction to the incredible baker Maida Heatter, a memory of a special meal with my parents at Ojai’s Ranch House restaurant when I was in high school and so many unique recipes that you wouldn’t find in just any food magazine – like the recipe for Irish potatoes shared here. These go together quickly. The centers contain just coconut, powdered sugar, cream and vanilla.  The “potatoes” are dusted with a refreshing blend of cinnamon, cocoa, and powdered sugar. I like them best the second day. To me they taste like a blast of cool air. Years ago one of my work friends referred to them as delightful sweeties. Apparently they are quite popular in Philadelphia around St. Patrick’s Day. I think they are delightful any time of year.

One comment

Leave a Reply

